Fresh Air

image

On the topic of utter chaos, let me say, for whatever reason, the first couple hours after my son wakes up are always total and complete chaos. I have always known, and my husband will attest to this, that I am NOT a morning person. Now that I am a mother I have realized that those first few moments of my day used to be so very crucial to my mindset for the rest of the day. Now, I have a very demanding little human needing every second (and arm!) of mine to get ready for the day, feed before meltdown central begins, play with, try, try, TRY to feed myself, perhaps brush my hair and teeth? One can only hope. I can get negative, and down, and out right frustrated, not with my chunkie monkey, but with myself. Who really cares if my hair is brushed? I knew when I got pregnant the universe was giving me something I needed. What I needed was TO SLOW DOWN. Way down. Not only do I need to slow down to be more present for him, but for me too dang it! I mean I do still matter right? I need to be here, now. So we got out of the house, being active is important to me and my happiness but I seemed to put it on the back burner in those first few months postpartum. I can be active AND a mom right? Here’s to trying!

Leave a Reply

